APC Primary for Lagos Assembly Aspirants Records Upsets

Some Lagos State Assembly members, have lost their bids to return to the house at party primary.

The All Progressives Congresss, APC held its State House of Assembly Primary across forty state constituencies in Lagos.

In most areas, the exercise was peaceful while some areas recorded violence.

At the Oshodi Isolo constituency one which was held at the Oshodi Isolo Council Secretariat, a former Chairman of Agege Local Government Area, Mr. Stephen Ogundipe defeated the incumbent member representing the Constituency, Mr Olushola Sokunle.

Mr. Ogundipe scored twenty votes while Mr. Sokunle polled four votes.

In a related development, Mr. Jude Idimogu representing  Oshodi-Isolo Constituency two lost to the son of a former Chairman of the party in Lagos, Mr. Ladi Ajomale.

Mr. Ajomale scored thirty votes, while Mr. Jude had no vote.

Earlier, the son of the Minister of Information and Culture, Mr. Folajimi Mohammed who represents  Ikeja State Constituency One also lost to Mr. Seyi Lawal, who was a former Legislative Leader of Onigbongbo Local Council Development Area.

At the primary election, Mr. Lawal scored fifteen delegate -votes while Folajimi could only muster nine votes.

Similarly, the hope of the member of Lagos State Assembly representing Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1, Mojisola Macaulay, was dashed after she lost the APC ticket to Mr. Olaitan Folorunso.

The primary election, which took place in Festac, saw Mr. Folorunso winning twelve delegate- votes out of 20 to beat Mrs. Macaulay, who got four votes. The remaining four delegate- votes went to the third contestant, Eniola Adesina Ado.

By Taoreed Abdullahi.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button