LASG Honours Eleven Students for Outstanding Academic Performance, Issues Scholarships for Best 2021 WAEC Results

The Lagos State Government has given awards of recognition to secondary school students in the state who distinguished themselves academically between year 2020 and 2021.

The eleven beneficiaries from both public and private schools were honoured for coming tops in various competitions in science, research and leadership within and outside the country.

One of the students, Oladipupo Marvelous from Government Technical College Agidingbi Ikeja, won the Best Critical Thinker in the 2021 African Leadership Academy Competition, while two others, Favour Abiodun and Taiwo Solana got eight and seven A’s in last year’s West Africa Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination, WASSCE (2020 WAEC best results)

Others are ; Sheidu Samuel who clinched the 1st Position in the 2021 Nigerian Institute of Physics, NIP, competition as well as the 2nd position in the 2021 Oluwole Awokoya Chemistry Competition; Olajide Akorede and Ebere Divine, both of whom also came first in the NIP competition, as well as Ajasa Kehinde and Obikoya Ayomide who got the 1st Positions in the 2021 Stockholm Junior Water Competition, while Adeleye Wonder and Adewusi Promise got the second positions each in this year’s edition of the same competition, Garuba Mustapha went home with the top prize in the same category last year. (2020)

Presenting the awards to the beneficiaries during a ceremony in Alausa, Ikeja, the Commissioner for Education, Mrs Folasade Adefisayo commended them for making Lagos proud and announced that the State Government had given a two hundred thousand naira yearly Scholarships to the two students who got the best results in Lagos in this year’s WAEC and also got over three hundred marks in the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board exam, earning them admission into the University of Lagos, UNILAG.
“As we all know, Lagos State has a scholarship scheme for those already in University, who have scored four points GPA, but when we learnt about these students’ feat, we wrote to Mr Governor, that these ones are not yet in the University, but they have made us proud, Mr Governor did not hesitate, within few hours, he said approved”  the Commissioner revealed.
Mrs Adefisayo advised the beneficiaries not to rest on their oars “Remember that you must stayed focused, you are on your own in the University, don’t be distracted, we are proud of you, keep it up, see you at the top, you are going to get there and remain role models. Well done!” She said 
Earlier while presenting the award winners, the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry, Mr Abayomi Abolade explained that the beneficiaries were twelve initially, but one of them, Adedokun Adeola Elizabeth, who won the 1st position in the 2020 Stockholm Water Competition, died recently.
A minute of silence was observed for the repose of her soul. 
In an interview with Radio Nigeria, some of the students who were excited by the recognition, thanked the State Government and said that the award would spur them to do more.
Some Principals and teachers from the schools attended by the award winners were present at the ceremony.

Discover more from Radio Nigeria Lagos

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Discover more from Radio Nigeria Lagos

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading