Maritime Reporters Marks Anniversary in Style

By Fabian Anawo

The Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria, MARAN, is set to celebrate its 34 Years of existence and reportage of the maritime industry in style.

It is marking it with a lecture entitled; “16-YEARS OF PORT CONCESSION: The Pains and the Gains .”

In a statement issued in Lagos, the Chairman Planning Committee, Mr Dapo Olawuni, said that the lecture would be an expose of Port Concession in the country.

Mr. Olawuni said that the immediate past Executive Secretary of the Nigerian Shippers Council, Mr. Hassan Bello will deliver the lead paper.

The paper is expected to evaluate how far government has exploited and harness the potentials of the existing port infrastructures and examine the emerging opportunities posed by new ports for the good of the Nigerian economy.

Mr. Bello’s paper will be discussed by experts in the Maritime industry such as the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, NPA, Mr. Muhammed Bello-Koko, a Maritime lawyer, Mrs. Jean-Chiazor Anisheri, the Managing Director Truck Transit Park, Mr. Kama Onwubuariri and the Registrar NAGAFF Academy, Mr. Francis Omotosho.

It is not impossible that the paper discussion could draw the attention of the Federal Government on the need to review the port concession era, and to examine the opportunities posed by the building of new ports, especially the much celebrated Lekki Deep Seaport.

Already, the Minister of Transportation Mr. Muazu Jaji Sambo, has confirmed that he will grace the event.

The former Chairman of NPA, Chief Adebayo Sarumi, will chair the event which has been tagged a “Night of Glory,” as it attracts the creme la creme of the industry.

Besides the lecture, awards will be conferred on deserving organizations and stakeholders who have contributed their quota to the development of the Maritime sector.

Dignitaries who will grace the event includes, the Chairman of Integrated Oil and Gas, Capt Emmanuel Iheanacho, the Chairman of SIFAX Group, Mr. Taiwo Afolabi, former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents Prince Olayiwola Shittu, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Col Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Buba Marwa, the Iyalaje Kano, Hajia Bola Muse, Mrs Jean Chiazor Anishere (SAN) among others.

MARAN Awards holds once in a decade. The last edition was held in December 2013.

Just last Thursday, MARAN trained fifty of its members in Digital Journalism.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button