Maritime Reporters Set to Celebrate 34th Anniversary.

By Fabian Anawo

All roads lead the Sheraton hotel in Ikeja, Lagos on November 28th as the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) celebrate its 34 Years of existence and reportage of the maritime industry.

MARAN, the umbrella body of Maritime journalists in the country was formed in November 1988.

According to a statement issued in Lagos by the Chairman Planning Committee, Mr Dapo Olawuni, there would be a lecture to x-ray the 16 years of Port Concession in Nigeria and proffer the way forward for the country.

It will also evaluate how far government has exploited and harness the potentials of the existing port infrastructures and examine the emerging opportunities posed by new ports for the good of the Nigerian economy.

Mr Olawuni, said that the theme for the anniversary is; “16-YEARS OF PORT CONCESSION: THE PAINS AND THE GAINS.”

Other activities lined up include the conferment of Awards of Excellence on some notable corporate bodies and individuals who have impacted positively on the maritime industry and a Gala night.

He said that the celebration would draw the attention of the Federal Government on the need to review the port concession era, and to examine the opportunities posed by the building of new ports, especially the much celebrated Lekki Deep Seaport.

The Minister of Transportation Mr. Muazu Jaji Sambo, Former Chairman of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Chief Adebayo Sarumi, the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Muhammed Bello-Koko and the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) the Chairman of Integrated Oil and Gas, Capt Emmanuel Iheanacho, the Chairman of SIFAX Group, Mr. Taiwo Afolabi, will grace the occasion

Others are; former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) Prince Olayiwola Shittu, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Col Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Buba Marwa, the Iyalaje Kano, Hajia Bola Muse, Mrs Jean Chiazor Anishere (SAN) among others.

MARAN Awards holds once in a decade. The last edition was held in December 2013.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button