Team Nigeria Carries Huge Expectation into 2023 Davis Cup Tournament

Nigeria tennis national team will battle their counterparts from Mozambique, Angola and hosts Rwanda in Pool B of the 2023 Davis Cup Group IV competition.

The trio of Uche Oparaoji, Peter Lawal, David Ekpenyong plus US-based duo of Christopher Bulus and Wilson Igbinovia will represent Nigeria in the clay court tournament that serves off tomorrow in Kigali.

On current form of the players this represents Nigeria’s best shot at qualification to Group III after the nation finished 4th in Pool B of last year’s tournament also in Rwanda.

Top two teams from the two round robin pools of A and B will qualify for the semifinal where winners will pick up the two promotional tickets available in the competition.

The competition ends on 29 July.

Participating teams:

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button